Kelechi Iheanacho, Alex Iwobi: Nigeria internationals nominated for Golden Boy award

Kelechi Iheanacho and Alex Iwobi

The Golden Boy award is for a young player in Europe considered to be the best among his peers in a calendar year.

Nigeria internationals Kelechi Iheanacho and Alex Iwobi has been shortlisted for the 2016 edition of the 2016 Golden Boy award.

The Golden Boy award is for a young player in Europe considered to be the best among his peers in a calendar year.


All nominees must be under the age of 21 and play in a European nation’s top tier.

The shortlist for the 2016 edition has been released and in it, two Nigerian internationals have been included.

Iheanacho who recently became the first Nigerian to score in the Manchester derby made the list.

ALSO READ: Is Iheanacho better than Rashford?

In the year under review, the 19-year-old was promoted to Manchester City first team and has never looked back since there.


He scored 10 goals in the 2015/2016 season and has three so far this term.


Iwobi also got into the Arsenal first team last season, scoring two goals. This season,  he has become a regular for the Gunners as he continues to impress.

Iwobi also became a full international in the year under review after making his Super Eagles debut in October 2015.

ALSO READ: Arsenal nearly released Alex Iwobi


Manchester United striker Marcus Rashford is also nominated alongside Dele Alli of Tottenham, Manchester City’s Leroy Sane, Demerai Gray of Leicester City.


Manchester United forward, Antony Martial won the last edition while other previous winners include, Raheem Sterling (2014), Paul Pogba (2013), Isco (2012) Lionel Messi (2005), Cesc Fabregas (2006) and Mario Balotelli (2010).

Full Shortlist

Belgian Jupiler Pro league: Leon Bailey (Gent), Youri Tielemans (Anderlecht).

German Bundesliga: Julian Brandt (Bayer Leverkusen), Andreas Christensen (Borussia Monchengladbach), Kingsley Coman (Bayern Munich), Mahmoud Dahoud (Borussia Monchengladbach), Ousmane Dembele (Borussia Dortmund), Breel Embolo (Schalke), Alen Halilovic (Hamburg), Renato Sanches (Bayern Munich), Jonathan Tah (Bayer Leverkusen).

Croatian Prva Liga: Ante Coric (Dinamo Zagreb).

Dutch Eredivise: Riechedley Bazoer (Ajax), Nathan (Vitesse), Jairo Riedewald (Ajax)

English Premier League: Leroy Sane (Manchester City), Dele Alli (Tottenham), Demarai Gray (Leicester), Marko Grujic (Liverpool), Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal), Ruben Loftus Cheek (Chelsea), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United).

France Ligue 1: Gabriel Boschilia (Monaco), Emmanuel Mammana (Lyon), Almamy Touré (Monaco).

Italy Serie A: Amadou Diawara (Napoli), Gianluigi Donnarumma (AC Milan), Gabriel Barbosa (Inter Milan), Olivier Ntcham (Genoa).

Portuguese Primeira Liga: Gonçalo Guedes (Benfica), Ruben Neves (Porto), Danilo Barbosa (Benfica)

Russian Premier League: Aleksandr Golovin (CSKA Moscow).

Scottish Premier League: Moussa Dembele (Celtic).

Spain La Liga: Marco Asensio (Real Madrid), Carlos Fernandez (Sevilla), Lucas Hernández (Atletico Madrid), Tonny Sanabria (Real Betis).

Ukraine: Viktor Kovalenko (Shakhtar Donetsk)


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *